Press Releases

Senators Bush, Morrison and Link speak about township consolidation in Libertyville.

LIBERTYVILLE – Local, county and state government officials joined together this morning in Libertyville in support of efforts by State Sen. Melinda Bush (D-Grayslake) and State Sen. Julie Morrison (D-Deerfield) to allow township government consolidation.

“Responsible township consolidation will make local government more efficient and put money back in taxpayers’ pockets,” said Sen. Bush. “I’m proud to put this long-overdue power in the hands of Illinois citizens.”

Bush’s proposal, contained in Senate Bill 388, would allow townships to merge or dissolve, empowering local voters to have the final say in the process. Current Illinois law doesn’t provide a method for township governments to merge or consolidate.

Senate Bill 389, proposed by Senator Morrison, would allow townships to assume the responsibilities of road districts that maintain less than 15 miles of road. Her proposal also removes the cap on the size of townships, allowing for the merging of smaller townships.

“Common sense proposals that would make township government more efficient and more responsive to taxpayers are currently prohibited under state law,” Morrison said. “Local governments would be empowered under this plan to make decisions that are in the best interests of local residents.”

State Sen. Terry Link (D-Vernon Hills) also attended today’s press conference.

“Many units of local government throughout the state have become outdated and unnecessary,” Link said. “We no longer need over 7,000 units of local government.  Today is about taking steps to creating a more efficient government.”

Both proposals are scheduled for consideration this week in the Illinois Senate.


Category: Press Releases

COVID19 Updates

COVID-19 Resources

Follow Sen. Bush


Newsletter Sign-up
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

opioid crisis button

Contact Me

Springfield Office:
218 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: (217) 782-7353

District Office:
10 N. Lake St., Suite 112
Grayslake, IL 60030
Phone: (847) 548-5631